awsm-ly Curvy, Casual and Colorful for Spring!

Today’s blog is gonna be quick-n-dirty, as it’s an especially hectic day, but I wanted to share some pix that show my awsm Curvy Fashion sense!

I am so delighted that Springtime is here, as I have some colorful transitional-season/warm weather outfits that make me feel happy and bright!

You’ll recall that last week, I posted about a visit to dine at Fogo de Chao — My Fogo de Chao Blog, Thurs 5/8/14 — and here’s the outfit I wore:

050814 Fogo 01 050814 Fogo 02

This is a great, comfy and colorful Springtime ensemble: I found this lightweight Mossimo size L/G dress for <$10 on the clearance rack at Target last spring.  It features a ruffled bodice with a nice V in the back, a natural elasticized waist that flatters my hourglass shape (just one narrow band, so I can wear it plain, as I did here, or accessorize it with narrow or wide belts), and a slightly flared skirt that ends about 2-3″ above the knee — though this means I have to be mindful of how I sit (gracefully, ladies, always gracefully), I love a flirty shorter skirt to show off my legs!  I snipped a few stitches at the center-front neckline to create more of a V-neck, since that’s a look that works very well for me.  It’s sleeveless (but, importantly, the straps cover my necessary underthings, which is an important detail to me) so I can wear it throughout the year, alone or with several different cardigans, jackets, wraps, as well as scarves, different belts, etc for multiple looks, which is the kind of versatility I demand!

IMG_20140512_030335

In this case, my lingerie was a coordinated set in purple, with a black lace over satin bra and a black-lace-trimmed satin panty, both from Walmart’s Smart&Sexy line.

__Photo In The Works

Photo In The Works!

Because I was going to be walking in Center City, I skipped my sassy purple stiletto’s and opted for these cute purple booties that I got from my sister at Christmas (a consignment store find at <$20).

IMG_20140512_030556

The purple handbag came from either the Salvy or 2nd Avenue, at about $5 — it’s supercute, but frustrating in that it lacks any pockets for organizing.  I end-up using Ziploc bags: one for my travelling cosmetics, another for ID and wallet, etc.

IMG_20140512_030207

For final details, My jewelry consisted of a colorful bead-and-gold chain necklace paired with earrings in antiqued gold and rainbow crystals, along with a fun purple nail-polish from 5Below.  The denim jacket is an old wardrobe staple, funky for in-Town visits and accessorized with a bright multicolor scarf in the pocket.

In this ensemble, I felt pretty, sexy and ready for Spring as I stepped-out with my guy!

One more look for today:  a Casual Curvy look

IMG_20140511_093912

Here I am, ready for a day of errands and just hanging-out at-home, in an outfit that re-uses many of the accessories from my ensemble above.  I’ve re-used the necklace, earrings, and handbag, as well as the handwashed and air-dryed lingerie set.  Because I am constantly on the move, spending a few nights here and a few nights there in the course of every week, when I gather my garments I try to make sure that each item is part of a coordinated group of ensembles that present mixed-and-matched items in new styles, so as to get the maximum use out of the minimum number of items packed.

What’s new here are some of my fave capri’s, which are black-denim “jeggings” by Mix&Co/size 3x from the Family Dollar Store, about $8 last Spring, if I remember correctly.  They are super-comfy, a lightweight cotton blend with plenty of stretch.  I could wear their 2x, but I like the easy fit of the larger size.

The top is a marvellous gauze tunic top, size 22-24, from Lane Bryant, that I borrowed from my sister, who found it at 2nd Avenue a few weeks ago for $7.  The bodice has sequin and metallic thread accents, and great little round buttons.  This top is so fun and breezy-comfy on a spring day that might start in the 50s, go up to the high 70s and then back down again in temps.

And omigosh, my shoes: I adore these cloth MaryJane-style knockabouts that were around $5 from Family Dollar Store so much, I bought 2 pairs.  They are soooo comfy and cute!

Yay for Sunny Spring Colors!

 

 

Leave a Reply

